top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJourney Joslin

A Truly Beautiful Life

So, it's been a good two-and-a-half weeks since my last post, and life is moving along at a pretty rapid clip.


First, an update on the Gilman Scholarship situation. I emailed the Gilman program with questions about why they awarded me the scholarship despite my destination being outside their guidelines and requested they reconsider. As one might have expected from a government-run program, I got a pretty stock "sorry, not sorry" answer. They did take the time to answer some questions, but not the big one: why give me the scholarship in the first place? But I won't belabor that point. What it boils down to is that I had to decline the scholarship, though I will still be able to list that on my resume during job hunts. It's discouraging that I will be missing out on that money, but I'm at the point where it just doesn't matter to me anymore.


That is one thing I'm truly grateful for; my personality tends to be fairly even keeled. When I get riled up, I feel it deeply, but then I move on. I accept what's happening and get on with life. That is truly a gift from God, because something as frustrating as the Gilman fiasco could have really tarnished the Christmas season and my semester as a whole. Instead, God has given me the peace and the perspective to say, yes, it's frustrating, but my life is absolutely wonderful.


Do you ever have those moments where, in the midst of a totally average day or monotonous chore, you are hit with the absolute wonder of your life? I had one of those a while back, which is the inspiration for this post. Even in the middle of disappointment, even in the middle of a busy Christmas season and the chaos of planning for four months abroad, my life is wonderful.


I just finished working at one of the greatest fabric stores on the planet where I spent every shift surrounded by encouraging, sweet, inspiring, and helpful women. Both the customers and the employees made every shift enjoyable instead of a chore.


I live with two parents who love me like crazy and are willing to do whatever they can to help me achieve my goals. I can't even begin to tell you how much they have sacrificed for me and my siblings. I know there have been many times when they went without so we could have a good education, gifts at Christmas and birthdays, and the sports and hobbies we were interested in. Through it all, they have been there to encourage and support us. I can't even begin to express what wonderful people they are. The influence they have had on me and my life is beyond words. So I will simply say thank you, Mom and Dad.


Despite the changes and confusion over the course of my high school and college education, I really have been blessed with amazing teachers and peers. Just thinking about these last two-and-a-half years at Spring Arbor University, I have been surrounded by professors who are talented and passionate about what they do. Just thinking about the professors in the English department - though the teachers I've had in other departments are almost without fail incredible - I can tell you I have never met more intelligent people. They have taught me not just how to write better, but also how to pursue what I'm passionate about and how to tailor my education and future career so that I am always pursuing something meaningful to me. The friends I have met in these last few years have been amazing. I never would have made it through the various stressful and frustrating moments that invariably come with college.


Finally, most relevant to this moment in my life, I am getting ready to study something I am passionate about at one of the world's greatest universities! Like, seriously? I get to study English at Oxford! I get to be surrounded by teachers and students who come from a bunch of backgrounds, but are all devoted to perfecting their studies. I will be spending four months in a country I've wanted to visit for years, and I get to live in a beautiful Victorian building while I'm doing it! And the cherry on top of all that is that I get a room to myself! For me, a committed hermit and introvert, that's a pretty darn big deal.


So, all that to say, despite the stuff still sitting on my To-Do list and the moments of struggle I know will come in the next few days, my life is pretty amazing. I have been loved, supported, encouraged, and challenged everyday of my life. Even when the bad stuff comes, there is always something good to balance it out. I really couldn't have asked for a better life.


That's pretty much it for this post. Not much of substance, but definitely stuff of importance. I'll likely be pretty quiet over the next few days as we go through the Christmas and New Year holidays. Then, off to Chicago for my flight to England! I'll try for one more post before that flight, but we'll see.


So, until next time, with all my love,


Journey Joslin

17 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page